From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing from Arduino to LINX??

Hello there,

A quick question:

Last year I developed this sketch to control the conditions of my ovens to dry fruits using an Arduino Mega, 3 sensors for Humidity and Temperature and 3 servos to control the opening on top of the oven..

Took me ages as I am not a programmer.

Now I see that the new way of programming is using LINX. (No LIFA anymore....)

What it would be the advantage of developing a new sketch in LINX to do the same as in my old sketch ?

The reason for this is that now I would like to change the Servo with Stepper Motor (more power to lift the hatch).

.... and I am having problems in Uploading the LIFA on my new Arduino Mega...............

Thanks for all your help and Time

Andrea

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(4,704 Views)

The LINX toolkit basically takes over the Arduino - it compiles a pre-written sketch onto the Arduino which gives you access to the peripherals (e.g. analogue/digital I/O) from LabVIEW and has a serial communications protocol to communicate between the Arduino and LabVIEW. It is, however, possible to customise the sketch to add in custom commands.

If your sketch has some custom functionality that isn't available in LINX (e.g. it implements some sort of control or talks to some shields etc.), then you might want to stick to your sketch. If your just reading some inputs/writing some outputs and want to do that from LabVIEW - then LINX is a simple way of doing that. Note as well that LINX requires your arduino to be constantly connected to the computer to work.