LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capture Events When Writing Block Diagrams

Hi All,

I am a PhD student working on a project that monitors how LabVIEW developers write code and when they make a change to code.

I need to capture events that occur when the developers are writing code in a block diagram, but the only event mechanism I can find is for the front panel when the VI is running. Anyone know if it is possible to capture events when a VI is not running or when writing a code via the Block Diagram? I want to have a plugin running the in background that can capture user events within LabVIEW as a background process.

Any suggestion or help is really appreciated!

Thanks

Saheed

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,120 Views)

Brian may have more to add since he is THE expert when it comes to Xnodes and scripting.

Search for Lavag.org and look for info on XNodes.

Xnodes are similar to XControls in that they can run when the VI containing them is not running e.g. the VI is being edited. But unlike the XControl Xnodes live on the block diagram.

You will also have to get familiar with LV Scripting since that functionality will be involved before you are done.

Now as far as a plug-in that will let you spy of developers...

Not sure how you would do that aside from possibly developing an XNode that is wrapped up in an error cluster and you replace the error cluster that is built into LV.

Were you assigned this project or did you choose it?

I hope you PHD is not riding on you accomplishing this.

Ben 

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
Message 2 of 14
(3,092 Views)