LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't connect to CNC machine

Hi everybody,

So, I'm really new with labview and I'm developing my second software, wich basically connects to a CNC machine via RS232, writes a message on its memory using Direct numerical control. The purpose of the message is to activate all of the digital outputs from a group (this is not the problem, the message is correct). The problem is that my CNC machine does not seems to be recieving the message, the code itself does not generate any errors, and when I checked on NI MAX, it seemed to be comunicating just fine.
Do any of you guys have any idea of what could be happaning?
I'm using a RS232 cable with a USB converter.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,258 Views)

@leotoducz wrote:

Hi everybody,

So, I'm really new with labview and I'm developing my second software, wich basically connects to a CNC machine via RS232, writes a message on its memory using Direct numerical control. The purpose of the message is to activate all of the digital outputs from a group (this is not the problem, the message is correct). The problem is that my CNC machine does not seems to be recieving the message, the code itself does not generate any errors, and when I checked on NI MAX, it seemed to be comunicating just fine.
Do any of you guys have any idea of what could be happaning?
I'm using a RS232 cable with a USB converter.

Thanks in advance!

Are you saying that the CNC machine responds correctly to the command when you send it in MAX but not in your code?

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,210 Views)