LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CPU usage at 100%

Hi,

I'm rather new to all this, but I seem to gobble up my CPU usage when I use the 'call library function' to call a dll.

I am using a Velleman K8055 USB interface board, a kit that you assemble which gives you 5 digital channels in, 8 digital channels out, 2 Analogue in and 2 Analogue out etc. It comes supplied with a dll for controlling it. I have sucessfully called the dll to control the digital out channels. I had a problem with cpu usage but then discovered that the presence of a wait (even only value 1) in the VI would drop the cpu usage way back.

When I try to read in one of the digital channels (or analogue for that matter) the CPU usage shoots up even if there is a wait in the VI (except when the wait is greater than 500 - but that's too long for me).

I'm using XP and its a USB interface. I've included the VI to see if that might enlighten things.

Any help gratefully recieved.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,768 Views)
What is happening is that your loop is running really fast and it is making calls to your dll.

CPU usage at 100% for your code is normal.

What you need to consider is your loop wait. Is it necessary to go as fast as your computer can? Try a small delay. This will make your UI more responsive.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,737 Views)
I'm trying to use the same board, but LV7 bombs out every time I try to call the dll, with a message about exceptions in an external function .
 I haven't got past OpenDevice yet! 
My LV program has an OpenDevice call with display of card number, and a CloseDevice call.
Task manager shows that the dll is not open after the LV program bombs.  I presume this means that the dll doesn't open or it is closed properly.
The board (with the same dll) works OK in Visual Basic (Yuk!).
Do I need a different dll?
My data types appear correct ie reporting as "long" in the function line during setup of the call.

Cheers
John Y
0 Kudos