LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Button Reset Triggering

(Note: I am relatively new to LabVIEW so some of my "understandings" may be muddled or, simply, incorrect.  I appreciate any patience required for assistance.)

In performing data acquisition work, I make use of 2 manually-programmed buttons (plus the "Start VI" button within the toolbar) - they are:

1.) "Press to Record" button which displays "Recording" when pressed, and

2.) "Press to Stop" which displays "Stopping" when pressed.

In stopping the VI, the process is as follows for the Stop button:

Press the "Press to Stop" button,

button displays "Stopping",

VI stops,

button display resets to displaying "Press to Stop". 

My problem lies within the Recording button not being reset which, after restarting the VI a second time, initiates recording immediately since the button is still "pressed". 

I am unsure if the behavior of the Stop button is inherently built into it as it is a defined control within LabVIEW, so I may be attempting to overcomplicate something impossible to achieve (however, removing human-error is, generally, worth the complication).

What I need is a way to reset the Recording button once, and only when, the Stop button is pressed.  For right now, I'd rather the rest of the indicators/controls/graphs/etc. NOT be reset - ONLY the Recording button.

I'm working in LabVIEW 2017, for what it's worth.

Any help or direction pointing would be greatly appreciated.  I will provide any other required information I can (and that I'm allowed to due to company policy).

Thank you and have a great day.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,537 Views)

One simple way of doing this would be use a Reinitialize to Defaults invoke node in your VI.

Are you using an Event Structure? If so you can also add a local variable to reset your record button when the Stop is pressed.

Post your VI if you want more specific help.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,529 Views)