LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a furnace control program

I have been tasked with building a control/automation program for my research group's furnace. The furnace is old and has virtually no automation; the power is currently controlled by a massive knob on the front of the furnace. I am a complete amateur with regards to Labview so I have a few questions for the pros:

1 - The temperature of the sample is the only variable that determines power output (and furnace temperature). This is currently measured using an infra-red pyrometer that connects to the PC via a serial port. I have tried building my own VI to read this serial port and I've tried using the serial VI example provided with Labview. Neither seems to read my pyrometer. How can I go about troubleshooting the code? (I know the pryometer works).

2 - What would be the best way to implement the control loop? I thought of using some kind of PID control loop but I have no function to relate power to temperature so formulating a control function would be nigh impossible.

3 - If I were to instead build a program that just accepts a target temperature and heating rate from the user and then just builds and maintains that set temperature, what would be the best way to do it? Would something as simple as a while loop be sufficient?

That's all the questions I can think of at the moment. I'll be checking back frequently and updating with additional questions. Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,524 Views)

Hey,

1. Some tips for serial communication.
• Make sure it is wired up properly (Sensor Tx connects to PC Rx)
• Understand the communication protocol to the sensor so you know what messages it expects and what message it will send back. Look in the device manual for this
• The “Bytes at Port” visa property is useful for checking if there are any messages at the port.

2. PID control