LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Build program from existing Driver VIs

I have an Agilent device (OSA) that I am trying to interface with my PC. I've installed all the necessary drivers (488.2 2.5) and MAX recognizes my device.

Agilent provided me with a series of files (MNU files and a LLB [vi library]) that supposedly allow me to build my communication interface. However, since I have little experience with LabView, I am not sure where to begin. I suppose that these VIs get somehow incoorporated into my large custom LabView program and hence depend on each other to function. Also, I've been told that two of the VIs (Init and Close) have to go at the beginning and end of my program.

Can someone provide any suggestions or guidance? Perhaps a tutorial that shows how multiple VIs are used to build a large program.

Thanks,
Alex
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,813 Views)
You can go to the Instrument Driver Network and check the links under learn to get an idea of what an instrument driver is and how to use one. I'm not sure about drivers created by Agilent, but all NI created drivers have a top level example. See if you have one of these. You also want to make sure you have installed the driver to the correct location. The instrument folder should be in your instr.lib folder. If done correctly, the driver funtions should be on your Instrument I/O>Instrument Driver palette.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,804 Views)
Thanks for the advice. I hope that website will help.

I placed the drivers into the directory that you specified. However, when I go to Tools/Instrumentation/Find Instru Drivers I receive an error which closes that window. Please see the image for the error window.

Thanks,
Alex

Edit: And yes, my connection is on. However, I fail to see why it even matters.

Edit 2: However, I see that before the window closes, my device does show up on the top left. This, I assume, means that everything is okay. Correct?