cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broken Semaphore VIs

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi.

I'm relatively new with regard to LabView development, so not sure if I'm missing something with this issue.

Just started a project which requires the use of semaphores and have noticed that all of the semaphore VIs seem to be broken, i.e. unexecutable. As far as I can tell, this is down to the Semaphore Refnums in the relevant VIs being greyed out. 

The errors listed in the VIs, e.g. Release Semaphore.vi, seems to relate to scope issues - 'Type Definition 'semaphore': This VI cannot access the referenced item in private scope'.

I've tried to run the semaphore example provided by NI and get the same errors.

Has anyone encountered this issue before, and if so, is there a resolution?

Cheers

Rob

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,468 Views)

Apologies for the premature post.

Believe I've managed to sort the issue.

Somehow, the Semaphore Ref Typedef had become associated with a library I had created for testing cloneable modules. Disconnecting the Ref from the typedef for each instance seemed to sort it out.

Cheers

Rob

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,433 Views)

This sounds more like a symptom than a problem.  Something like that should raise red flags.  I'd go through that project with a fine-toothed comb.  My personal note on how I feel about semaphores: It feels like cheating to me, like the problem could most likely be solved without using one if you took dataflow seriously.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(1,399 Views)

Apologies for the late reply Bill. Limited to 2 posts per 24 hrs at the moment. Like the moniker (assuming it's in homage to the great Phil!).