LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Breaking up continuous data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm trying to use labview to work with data in a very specific way.  I'm using a USB-6009 in import a continuous analog signal into labview.  I then want to take that signal and breaked it down to perform calculations on.  Essentially break it into a 5 second segment, average all that data, then store the average, then repeat for seconds 5-10, 10-15, and so on, storing all these averages(all while still inputting the continuous signal).  I initially tried using the moving average smoothing function, but that was more of a sliding average then taking blocks.  I'm just starting to learn labview, and I know my data is aquired in a while loop, and I'm fairly certain I will need to write another loop inside this to segment and average the data. I'm just struggling to put it all together.

Any help is much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,327 Views)

You may be able to do it on one loop or two parallel loops, but nested loops will likely be more complicated.  Hint: Shift register.

Do you need to keep the original data after it has been segmented and averaged? How fast are you sampling? Or, equivalently, how much data do you accumulate in 5 seconds?

Please post what you have tried so far so someone can suggest improvements.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,306 Views)
As Lynn pointed out you may be able to do the whole thing in one loop -- it all depends on how fast you're sampling. For example, say you are sampling at a 1kHz rate, 5 seconds of data is 5000 samples. Set up your DAQ process to sample continuously and read 5000 samples at a time. Each time you get a chunk of data from the DAQ read, average it and there's your datapoint.
Of course that technique also means that the software will be unable to do anything else (like respond to the user interface) for 5 seconds at a time.