LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Practices for Acquiring, Processing, Sending Out, Logging, and Displaying Data in One VI

Hi all,

Attached is a project [in LV 2015] that I am starting from scratch for a rehab device in my lab. I am a PhD student and have been using a different (old) LV program to control the device for years and finally am taking to time to redesign it properly. I am looking to use all best practices possible so that this code can be maintainable, expandable, and robust. 

In the project folder there is a 'resources' folder that has a Word Doc explaining my headspace and ongoing design considerations I have.

Essentially I am looking for people with more LabVIEW savvy than me to look at my code skeleton and tell me what I could be doing better before I get too deep into this. I am a one-man team and am amenable to just about anything. But being a one-man team also means not a lot of engineering collaboration...That being said I greatly, greatly appreciate anyone's insights. 

I tried to clearly outline what the program needs to do and why I designed it this way, I am happy to clarify anything.

I am using DAQmx to collect and send out analog data to servo drives. I am also communicating with my motor servo drives via MODBUS TCP to change values of certain registers if that makes a difference in terms of how I structure anything. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(964 Views)

Hi,

I had a quick look:

- use version control instead of "...v1.vi"
- in most cases do not use "wait"-VIs instead use blocking-mechanism of event-structures, queues, user events or notifiers
- Have a look at QMH (queued message handler ) template to learn from
- in most cases you should use queues or user-events instead of notifiers for communicating between loops.
- queues for many-to-one communication
- user-events for many-to-one (or many-to-many if registered multiple times)