From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner's guide to outputting data from Labview to MySQL

Solved!
Go to solution
Hi

I am a student who has only recently started using Labview for a data logging project, so my knowledge of how to use it is rather lacking. My current aim is to be able to output the logged data directly into a MySQL server, so that the data can then be remotely accessed over the internet and processed using PHP scripts.

I have basic knowledge of MySQL, as I have previously used it to create dynamic web pages, but my knowledge of how it works is also somewhat lacking. The MySQL database I would be connecting to is remotely held on a university server that I will connect to.

I have seen that such connection is possible from previous posts, but I would really appreciate a more basic account of the steps that I would need to follow to make such a connection possible.

Thanks,

Rob
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(26,795 Views)
I'm more familiar with Oracle and Access, but the process should be the same. This is assuming you're using the Windows version of LabVIEW:

1) Install mySQL ODBC drivers for Windows
2) Create a DSN using the mySQL ODBC driver and configure it to point to your network based server. (in WinXP: Control Panel->Administrator Tools->Data Sources (ODBC)).
3) Use the N.I. Database Connectivity Toolkit LabVIEW VI's to log your data through standard SQL INSERT statements.

Hope this helps.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(26,777 Views)