cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner question re: random number function & timing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a student learning Labview. I am programming a Flashcard project for school. I have most of my code in place but am stuck on how to have 1 single random number be generated, and then wait for the user to enter a number in a numeric control before continuing on. I am supposed to use a sequence structure in the project. I need the user to see a set of 2 numbers to be either added, or multiplied. The user needs to then enter in their guess at the answer. The correct answer needs to be displayed, and then the loop starts over.

I am stuck on how to implement the random number function to only generate a single pair of numbers, and then have ther VI wait for the user input before continuing on. The answer should not be displayed until after the user has entered their guess.

I have included my VI so you can see where I'm at.

I appreciate any help or advice.

Thanks very much,

George

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,588 Views)

No need for a sequence structure.  But you should look into a State Machine and the Event Structure.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 14
(3,579 Views)

Hi crossrulz,

Thanks for the reply. My Professor requires a sequence structure as part of the assignment.

Thanks!

George

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(3,576 Views)

Hi George Spatta,

I am stuck on how to implement the random number function to only generate a single pair of numbers, and then have ther VI wait for the user input before continuing on. The answer should not be displayed until after the user has entered their guess.