From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

(Beginner) Need help for a Labview program (Simple Data read out and Logging)

Hi guys,

this is my first post here and i try to be as attentive to the guiding rules, but please forgive if it's not the case.

So following problem: I need to develop a program, that enables the Read Out of certain data/parameters (Voltage, Current, Temperature, eventually other Data signals) via I2C. It would be nice to plot the signals in real time and additionally, it should be possible to log the data and store them in an Excel (or similar). So far, you could say it ain't that complicated but I'm a real beginner in Labview ... 😕 . So i need some guiding tips, which modules/elements in labview are useful for this use case.

My questions:

- What kind of modules should/can i use?

- What type of loops/structures are useful?

- How can i implement the I2C interface?

- Do you have an example program, that does something similar?

As you see, I'm really at the beginning and up until now i have the impression to have no idea how to navigate through the endless possible ways to get there.

Sorry for any inconvenience this could cause you. I would really appreciate your help, thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(699 Views)

Are you a student or a professional? how much is your budget?

The easiest way would be to get a USB-8452 device and connect your I2C devices to this instrument. Once you've done that, next is to understand how to use the USB-8452 by studying the bunch of examples available, next look at your sensor datasheet to know what address to write/read and then finally develop your automation to do all the sensor read in a single go.

Santhosh