cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Array data missing with streaming hardware

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am trying to extract pressure readings from a serial monitor (manual attached) which prints data at 1s intervals, in the form of time, pressure1, pressure2, pressure3, TransPressure. I can look at this data in a hyperterminal like program seemingly fine, but for other purposes I want to capture this data at a user defined interval.

However my VI (attached) seems to be running into issues getting data. It seems to miss it often, and even returns blank results. The return count seems to fluctuate often, and I get error code 1073676294 often.

The VI works fine in highlight execution, so I assume is reading and clearing the data too fast, but even under a timed structure it seems to miss items.

I'm fairly new to LabVIEW (although I'm immensely enjoying and getting some successful applications albeit a bit spaghettified, but functional at least), so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,878 Views)

Congrats on getting started with LabVIEW.  There are a few ways to go about doing what you want, and they will be half guesses without having the hardware in front of me to test with, on which is the best approach.

Crossrulz and others are proponents of using the synchronous VISA reading functionality based on a terminating character.  With this you can tell the VISA API that your message will end with something like the 0x0A byte.  Then when you read you just say to read until that is seen (or timeout) and read those bytes and parse them.  This simplifies your application since you just let LabVIEW and the VISA API handle when the full message is there but relies on your device to send something like a carriage return at the end of a payload.