cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analog signal staircase help

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

I'm still new to LabVIEW, but I've played around enough to create a simple analog waveform generator. The signals produced appear staircased when displayed on an oscilloscope, but are smooth when I reread the signals into an analog input (as shown by the waveform graph). How can I change my program settings so that I can view this staircased signal?

I run LabVIEW 2010, and use a USB X Series Multifunction DAQ.

Thanks,

-Olivier

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,325 Views)

I've replaced the NI-DAQmx code with the DAQ Assistant for convenience. Updated version below.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,323 Views)

Olivier,

More than likely, it is the sampling rate of the oscilloscope. If you are not sampling fast enough, this would cause the waveform to appear "stepped".

Have you tried using some of the LabVIEW Example Finder (LabVIEW » Help Menu » Find Examples... » Browse Tab » Hardware Input and Output » DAQmx » Analog Generation) examples to generate a sine wave and then acquire that signal? This is a good way to eliminate any programming errors that might have been made.

If you generate a sine wave with Cont Gen Voltage Wfm-Int Clk.vi, do you still see the jagged edges when acquiring with the scope?

Let me know if you have further thoughts or questions.

Regards,

Aaron

National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,305 Views)