LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analog Input DAQ Between Rising Edges

Solved!
Go to solution

I am relatively new to LabVIEW, and I am attempting to use a USB-6003 to start/stop analog input DAQ following a digital input. I want to only keep the data points captured between the rising edge of the start and stop signals, but all of the examples I've found continue capturing data after the stop signal until the buffer is full. For my application, I need to start/stop DAQ several times and append each data set to the same text file. I have spent several days trying to figure this out, and none of the discussion posts I've found quite solve my problem. Additionally, I need to use the same digital input to start and stop the DAQ. Attached is the demo program I've been working on along with the subVI's that I've used. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,027 Views)

I've also tried to use the "acq_graph_voltage_dig" VI I found in an NI tutorial (http://www.ni.com/example/30028/en/), but whenever I try to run it I am given the error message 200452 (shown in attached PNG), telling me that the "Specified property [Ref.TrigType] is not supported by the device or is not applicable to the task." I understand the USB-6003 to have 2 digital trigger inputs (PFI0 & PFI1) at pins P1.1 & P2.0, which I have wired to a couple switches. Do I need to somehow configure my USB-6003 through NI MAX before using those pins as digital triggers?

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,007 Views)

I think I've gotten a lot closer to the product I'm looking for, but with this method I get very few data points. The measurement period is about 1/10 second, but the USB-6003 has a maximum sample rate of 100kS/s so I know that if I programmed this properly I could get a lot of data points during that span of time. Is there any way for me to get my while loop to iterate faster, or do I need to rethink how I'm approaching my DAQ process?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8