cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

An issue (bug?) with Config File VIs?!

Hello to all!

When using Config File VIs I encountered a very interesting
and killing (me) issue.
I spent an hour before I knew where's a bug.
(Maybe because I'm a novice to LabView).

From one side, the bug was mine: I used a "for loop" to write string values to keys in section and provided to the loop an array that could be empty sometimes. And I absolutely forgot that "for loop" executes at least one time anyway even if array is empty.

Ok, no problem, then the function "Write Key" should say "ERROR" and I would find my bug at once on the output of my "for loop".

BUT IT DOESN'T DO IT. It says "OK".

And only the next function "write key (string value in my case)"
fails saying "Error: Config Data Registry.vi [get data]: invalid object 0". I certainly think that something wrong with this "write key", but what means this message?!

Ok, I found who responds for this (the previous "write key" in for loop).
But the most interesting thing is that if you set after this bad "for loop" one more such "for loop" you don't get error on the output of the 2nd "for loop" too. It appears only after "write key" that goes after 2nd "for loop".

Well, forget it. Just look at attached files.

Something wrong in this "Write Key" function if error goes far beyond its real source of arrising.
Are you agreed? Or maybe I'm wrong?

Thanks to all for attention.
Any comments appreciated.
Rashid.

Using LV 8.0.1 Pro on WinXP.
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,812 Views)
Hi Rashid,
unfortunately I cannot open your VIs, got only 7.1