From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adjustable Calibration

To start, I am brand new to LabView so I appologies for my unsophisticated question.  I am using LabView 8.6 and currently collecting 4 analogue signals from a NI USB6009.  I have created a calibration curve for these signals to convert the voltage reading into degrees of rotation (the signals are from 3 Novotechnik P2501 potentiometers) and torque in Nm (the signal is from 1 Transducer Techniques SWS250 torque cell).  However, I need to be able to modify my calibration curve to account for the minor changes in readings due to changes in temperature in the room and accidental bumping...meaning I need to be able to press a buttom that will grab a data point.  I then need to be able to subtract the value of that data point from all other measurements made.

For example, this morning with the platform level, one of the potentiometers read .37 degrees of rotation.  That means that every data point I collect for the rest of the day is off by .37 degrees.  So I need to subtract .37 from every data point I collect throughout the day.

Any advice would be extremely helpful, but please keep in mind that I am still learning my way around this software.  Thanks!

Message Edited by Clemson11 on 06-09-2009 02:06 PM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,029 Views)

Clemson11,

Hello! You could setup two Data Acquisition Tasks such that the first one ran as a "calibration" to grab your offset value and the second one ran to acquire data. In doing this you could subtract the offset value received in the first Data Acquisition from the actual values in the second Data Acquisition.