LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding new variables to subvi

Solved!
Go to solution

After importing my DLL LabView import wizard kindly created Vi-s for me, i specified which variables i want to be shared or not. 
I also have the main vi where i use all my DLL functions as subvi-s 
I manually added a variable in the subvi that i want to receive in the main vi (i want subvi to do some stuff apart from just containing my DLL function I/O)

I make it similar to my function output variables. But when i add this subvi to the main vi i still see the same amount of terminals on it.

How do i properly create a variable in subvi which i can access from my main vi? Am i doing something wrong? I thought i need to reconfigure the subvi to specify new variable accessibility, but i couldn't find a way to do it...

Thanks in advance!

PS I'm new to LabView and i don't know it that good yet, it takes time to find things i need because i don't know where they are...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,197 Views)

Hi Kitt,

How do i properly create a variable in subvi which i can access from my main vi?

Are you talking about in/out values, connected in the ConnectorPane of your subVI?

(LabVIEW doesn't use "variables" in the sense of textual programming.)

Am i doing something wrong?

I don't know. You didn't attach any code…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 9
(3,183 Views)

Did you learn how to use the Connector Pane yet?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 3 of 9
(3,180 Views)

After importing my DLL LabView import wizard kindly created Vi-s for me, i specified which variables i want to be shared or not.