cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding data to text file

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello All,

I am still fairly new to LabVIEW. This VI was not built by me but by someone who had left our company so now i get to solve its problems with no help or notes! Anyways this VI takes Data from our Atlas Copco and adds it into a text file. So far that part works fine but the problem that i am trying to fix is that every time it saves the data it duplicates data that has already been added to the text file. I need this program to only save the new data from the AC. We have another Vi that goes through the text data to see if there were any serial numbers that had been skipped or are out of tolerance. Since there is duplicated data in the text file, the program gets confused and states that all serial numbers are missing. Any ideas on how i can go about this problem?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,570 Views)

I added a Zip of the whole Project since i don't think opening my VI will work unless the other VI's are added.

The program i am having trouble with is in the "1305 Rev 4 info" and its the "MAIN - AUTO Tightening Data Export to TXT - 1305.vi"

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,560 Views)

You are missing the subVI's.  I don't see any file handling in the main VI, so perhaps it is happening in a subVI.

Okay, you have since added a zip file.  I'd highly recommend building a project file for this project.

My guess, somewhere there is a continually growing string in a shift register that is being appended to the text file on every iteration.

I do see in the subVI Data File Location, it opens the text file and moves the pointer to the end and writes whatever data is in that array.  But I don't understand what the overall flow of your program is supposed to be.  It seems to be based on an integer that is either 0, 10, 20, 30 integer.  (What is this line number basic programming?