From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding Support for New Hardware in LabView

Everyone,

We have a request to support one of our CAN PCI Mezzanine Cards (PMC) under LabView. This is not an NI Card. I am new to LabView and I am trying to figure out how to integrate this currently unsupported CAN card into LabView so that our customers can manipulate this device through the LabView interface. I would consider this to be somewhat a 3rd party device/driver integration into LabView. I went through few of the webcasts but was not able to get specific info on what needs to be done with LabView to get this hardware supported and what tools we would need to purchase to do this development and testing. Even though we would need to test our hardware from an end user perspective, our objective here is to get our hardware integrated into LabView and be useable as a standard CAN device. Currently we only have a windows XP driver for this CAN hardware.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,038 Views)

What is your current driver?  LabVIEW can call multiple types of other code, such as DLL's, ActiveX, .NET, etc.

The option you probably want to go with is to write a LabVIEW wrapper around the driver you currently have.  There could be some issues if you have any complex data structures in your driver, as LabVIEW can have some problems.  In this case, you may need another LabVIEW friendly wrapper to handle these issues.  LabVIEW is most likely capable of doing the direct communciation with your hardware, but then you would have to maintain two versions of your driver.  Using the wrapper method, as long as the calling method doesn't change, your LabVIEW driver can remain unchanged.