LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquiring continuous data using an event structure

I am new to labview, having recently taken the Core I and II courses.

I am programming a test rig to acquire the linear position of a hydraulic cylinder and plot it over time.  In programming this code, I elected to use an event structure so that when a front panel button is pressed, a certain part of the test is run. 

In one particular part of the test, called the Snub Test, I need to measure the position of the cylinder over time and plot it to a graph.  The data acquisition needs to be continuous, however the event structure only allows the loop to run once. 

I have attached a portion of my code for reference.

Can someone please advise how I can get this data acquisition to run continuously until the user (or a reference trigger) stops the test?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,646 Views)

Simply manipulate the timeout and use the timeout case.

Here is an old example, but there are probably many more ...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,639 Views)

A single loop with an event structure is not the best way to go about this. I was unable to open your code as there were some subVI's missing so I cannot appreciate how you have approached this although I will assume you have a vi with a single while loops with an event struct in it!

You should study the "Producer/Consumer Design Pattern (Events)" template that ships with LabVIEW.  In case you are unfamiliar, select File>>New. Then expand the Frameworks section and within Design Patterns you will see the template I mentioned.

This template will show you how to use an event structure in its own loop to issue commands to a parallel loop which could contain your DAQ code. Typically when an event is called in a producer loop, a command is queued to the consumer loop which allows some form of control over its function (start DAQ, Stop DAQ, Quit for example).