From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Absolute angular encoder to trigger high speed camera

Hi!

I am new to LabView and I have a task I am struggling with.

My goal is to use an absolute angular encoder to trigger a camera at a desired angle (0-2pi). This angle may vary, but is for starters set to the default value 2 in "Global values".

The shaft that is connected to the encoder will rotate at 700 rpm, but with a slight variation, so time based triggering would not work.
The absolute encoder outputs an analog signal from 0 to 10, but is scaled in the program to vary from 0 to 2pi.
I am using a Basler ace 1440 and LabVIEW Version 19.0.1 (32-bit).

I want the system to be quite accurate, so that the angular position of the image captured vary by a maximum of +-0.05 radians from the desired angle.

My current program works as follows:
I have split this task up in two separate programs, and some global values.

1. An encoder program "EncoderTrigger.vi". When the angular position value of the encoder is slightly less(1.9) than the desired value(2.0), it uses the current velocity to calculate the a wait-time until the position is at the desired value, and it sets the global Boolean value  “Trigger camera” to true. 

2. An image grab program "GrabImage.vi". When “Trigger camera”  is true, it waits the calculated wait-time and it starts a producer loop which grabs an image and saves it in a consumer loop. I do not know the delay between the programs, but I thought of subtracting the delay from the wait-time.