From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3D object scanner

Hi guys, I am a PhD student and interested in 3D laser scanning of objects using NI Labview.

I saw this interesting video on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmfwPXYO5vM

i am bit confused what all the hardware will I need to order from NI keeping aside the stepper motors, 

Suggestions much appreciated.

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,868 Views)

It depends on the scanner.  It is unlikely that you will be using stepper motors.  Laser scanheads usually use galvonometers and servo drivers to control the beam.  There are a couple of standard laser interfaces that control the servos (XY2-100) and laser power (IPG, SPI).  Or, you could just use DAQ cards to do it yourself.

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(3,853 Views)

HI I was confused between which NI board should I use in interface with Labview?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(3,841 Views)

Thanks for the reply

Is it possible for u to watch that video on youtube which I haev posted.

I am thinking of using Microtrak Laser II. 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(3,840 Views)

That particular demo, as it says in the video, was done with an X-series DAQ device.  The particular X-series device you choose will depend on what motors and lasers you pick. If you want even more control (and more cost), consider one of the FPGA devices.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 15
(3,826 Views)

I can't watch YouTube at work but I'll try to remember to check it out at home.