LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview-Arduino I2C error 5003

Hi,

I am new to Arduino and Labview and I have an Arduino Mega and Uno that are communicating with each other using I2C. The Uno is sending data to the Mega. The communication worked when I use serial monitor to read from Mega, however when I upload the LIFA firmware to the Mega  and try and use Labview to read the data that the UNO is sending it gives me 5003 timeout error. I have tried to increase the time out but it still doesn’t work. Does anybody know what I am doing wrong? I have also attached the Uno sketch and  the Labview VI I am using. I would be grateful if anyone can help.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(14,087 Views)

You have to use the same baud rate in LabVIEW and what is in the LIFA firmware.  If you are using the latest version then you need to use 9600 and not 115200 for the Arduino Mega 2560.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(7,037 Views)

Nathan,

Thanks for your help, I changed the baud rate to 9600 but I am still getting the 5003 error which is due to a timeout while trying to read from Arduino.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(7,038 Views)

I added a 7 in : Wire.begin(7); // join i2c bus (address optional for master) in my code and I also changed the 4 to 7 in my VI for the I2C read block. It looks like I am reading something but now I am only reading 255!!!

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(7,038 Views)

I have the same setup and the labview get only the last byte

any suggestions?

Thanks

my skech:

#include <Wire.h>

#include <SHT1x.h>

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(2, 3, 4, 5,6,7);

// Specify data and clock connections and instantiate SHT1x object

#define dataPin  10

#define clockPin 11

SHT1x sht1x(dataPin, clockPin);

int x=0;

float temp_c;

float temp_f;

float humidity;

int t;

int h;

void setup()

{

lcd.begin(20,4);

lcd.print("starting program");

delay(1000);

lcd.clear();