Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

waters 2410 refractive detector data collecting using Labview

We use the waters 2410 differential refractive detector for stand along instrument. we just need to measure methanol concentation. The connectors show below. I am not sure if I could collect data using Labview. I check their manul. They do not have any control command. If we could, what kind of AD interface we need

Thank u so much waters 2410.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,663 Views)

Most instruments with a IEE488 interface (also called gpib) can be controlled via that interface.

The only thing you also need is a driver or a manual to build a driver

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,661 Views)

Hi

Can I do it using NI6008 DAQ device to do it? I know IEEE488 is outdated..

I am not good at for labview. I f I want to write a driver. what kind of stuff I need to know. I check waters 2410 menu. They do not provide any command code. I am not sure if  I can do or not.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,653 Views)

The IEEE-488 interface is anything but outdated. You've already been told what you need to learn how to interface to it. Did you try to google 'waters 2410'?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(3,650 Views)

Sorry

If I use IEEE to interface with PC. Do I need to purchase other accessory like some card or AD device? I try to google it, but no any driver or code. Another question is : I do not know any command like receive data code. Can I still collect data using IEEE? I knew waters company has its own software

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(3,646 Views)

Of course you need a GPIB controller on your pc. I  have no idea of the purpose of the other connections on the back. Ask the vendor what you should be connecting to them.