Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

source current and measure voltage simultaneously using keithiley 2400 source meter.

hi!!

i am new to lab view, i am trying to make a progarm to source current of desired range and measure voltage using keithiley 2400 source meter and plot its VI characterstics. i found an example on NI's site in which current is sourced by ke2400 and voltage measured by 2182 nano voltmeter. i tried to modify this program and used it acc to my requirement but it is showing generic i/o error GBIB ERROR CODE 6. can any one help me to fix this problem?? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,255 Views)

You forget that in LabVIEW the order of execution is determined by the dataflow (wires)

You are now not sure when both cmds are written and the read actually starts.

I slightly modified your vi but did not check the commands themselves.

have a look

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,253 Views)

The example that comes with the 2400 driver on NI's site does not look anything at all what you have posted. Why aren't you using that?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,249 Views)

I'm currently using the Keithley 2400 without a problem, but I'm using the Labview Library for the device.

I'm currently used the library/driver that I downloaded from ni.com/idnet:

http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.model_page?p_model_id=1583

There there are similar/older drivers on the Keithley website:

http://www.keithley.com/products/dcac/dmm/broadpurpose/?path=2400/Downloads

If you wire the error terminals in your MY.vi example, that should help to isolate where the problem is with your code.  The first things that comes to mind is that you don't allow any time between your GPIB Writes by checking  the status.  Also, the command syntax in MY.vi is unfamilar to me  sourc:curr0.001000\noutp on is atypical in my experience.