Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

serial data missing in multiple port operation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello.

My unit is transferring 51 bytes of asynchronous data in frames(each frame at 80ms) on six different channels (ch1,ch2,ch3,ch4 of baud rate-19200 and other two ch5,ch6 of baud rate 115200) and these six diff serial data is received by my system and it has to be checked for any byte error...(as i'm new to labview I've programmed a lengthy vi) in which I use visa read and process the received data... But now my real issue starts... upto certain time my system 'll be receiving data without any loss but aftr some time(say around 15mins) the data loss starts from the channel having baud rate of 115200 and later other channels start acting same...But my system is expected to run for 4hours for an endurance test of an aircraft... If the data loss is very less in numbers then its OK but 3 out of 4 frames starts missing...that is like loosing 75% of data.... I 'm attaching a snap of my code..Its just for a single port(in a while loop) I've taken..Imagine I;ve done same thing to rest port in a single while loop.... Please guide me where ive gone wrong or is it anything to do with time delay....pls help me out

the thing is still my system application needs is gonna grow more so I've to rectify this in beginning itself

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,943 Views)

There is no need to do the VISA Configure Serial Port with each iteration and doing a VISA Flush I/O Buffer makes no sense to me. You are waiting 30 msec, discarding all data and then waiting to read the 51 bytes. Try it with just a VISA Read inside the loop. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,932 Views)