From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCPI specific command does not work with VISA with MTX3293

Solved!
Go to solution
I tried to communicate with VISA, for common commands it works with "*IDN?\n", but when I want to execute a specific command, it gives me an error "VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0015) The timeout ' wait (timeout) expired before the operation was completed."
I am a beginner with the instrument control part on labview, someone can help me I will be gratefu

i need to communicate with VISA with MTX3293 multimetr , when i run the VISA test pannel with a commun command like "*IDN?\n", it works 

test panel command.PNG

 but when want to execut the specific command  to acquire the continus data from my MTX3293 it gives an error 

instruction.PNG

VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0015) the time out expired before the operation was not completed 

visa error.PNG

im a  beginner with instrument control on LabVIEW , some one help me please 

thank you for all  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,387 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Ayoubas01

You are sending an invalid command.  SCPI is based on a command hierarchy and you need to go through the hierarchy.  So your command should be ":DATA:CAT?".

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(1,368 Views)

Hi

I did build an isntrument driver via the template. But a lot of the vi's are not yet correct for your instrument,