From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Optimal GPIB commands sequence

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I have at least 5 different devices sharing the same bus and I am using GPIB for the communication with them.

I am looking for an optimal command sequence for communication like

for write *rst; *cls; some_command; read ; *wai (or *opt? *opt).

Additionally, GPIB communication occurs from a different VI's simultaneously (I am not an original developer of these programs).

Sometimes the program froze when one of the devices reveals the error of the command from the remote program (i.e. VI).

So, my idea is to prevent the error organizing a timetable for commands, I mean Check if device is busy, wait, if too long -- Cancel; send a command; read; wait until reads; make a mark that device is free for another command.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

Bests,

Dima

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,448 Views)

Hi triarian1,

What exactly is your program doing?
What errors are you seeing?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,391 Views)

Do you have an idea, which command causes the error on the device ?

You might run NI IO-Trace to log the commands on GPIB. That log could reveal what happens just before the freeze.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,383 Views)

Hi sherlockholm,

Program is communicating with two waveform generators Aglient 33521A and Stanford DS345 which sending a sine waves into samples, two Lock-ins Stanford SR830 analyze the response from samples. There is also a capacitance bridge which measures temperature.