Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue reading multiple Channels in SR830 Lock-In Amplifier

Greetings all,

I am a beginner to LabView and I am using it to interface with the SR830 Lock-In amplifier. I am using the SR830 drivers by Stanford Research to create a program whereby I can record the values obtained from Channel 1 (for amplitude) and Channel 2 (for phase). However, the data acquisition is very erratic and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. The error messages that I get are not the same as well and varies from time to time.

I tried following the example given by Stanford Research (attached) and replicating it to work for two channels. My trial program (SR830_Trial) has also been attached. Could somebody help to see why my program would not run? Thanks a million.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,821 Views)

Hi

Two suggestions

1) set your gpib card to the slowest possible speed (as far as I remember 1 micro second)

Because the 830 is not that good at handshaking with high speed. This should not be needed but most of the time it helps.

2) you use the wait unti next ms multiple. That one is not really waiting consistently the first wait. It happens it only waits 0 ms the first time.

in the lower half you use the wait ms that is reproducible, although it can be adding up if you loop it a few thousand times.

3) Never use a sequence frame but use error in/ error out to sequence vi's.

greetings from the Netherlands
Message 2 of 6
(1,804 Views)

Thank you for your reply. For your suggestions:

1) How do I set my GPIB card to the slowest speed? Is it done by changing the setting as shown in the screenshot below?

Shanz_0-1600874030922.png