From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Elvis II variable power supply

Solved!
Go to solution

Not sure if this is the right forum for this question. I am new with the NI products and just got in the Elvis II Instrumentation, Design, and Prototyping Platform. I wanted to build a quick voltage regulator circuit I have built before and had working on another breadboard.  The circuit is attached. So using the variable power supply source on the Prototyping Board as the power source set to 9v and for the switch, I just used a jumper wire from the + source to leg 1 on the LM7805. So turning on the power by running the vi, I verified I had 9v. I then moved the jumper to leg 1 and noticed the LED flickering. After doing this several times with the same results, I then measured both the source supply and output voltage. Before connecting the jumper, Source = 8.84v. After connecting the jumper, Source dropped to ~ 3v and the output voltage jumps between 1.6v – 2.3v. So here is the interesting thing: If I leave the jumper wire connected and stop the variable power supply vi and then restart it, the circuit works correctly. Also, if I remove the wires to the variable power supply terminals on the Elvis II proto board and connect a 9v battery, I can connect and remove the same jumper used as the switch before and the circuit also works. Any ideas on what is happening?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,186 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Chiffy242