Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic CAN Bus Example

Hi everyone,

I have questions about CAN Bus. It is the only communication bus that I did not use in LabVIEW. So I do not know fundamentals of CAN in LabVIEW.

To understand similarity, I will attach a VI that I wrote in LabVIEW to communicate with a device without any NI Hardwares with RS232 cable. This VI works. There is no problem.

But as I said, I have no experience with CAN Bus. I created a CAN VI which is similar to the RS232 VI. But in RS232 VI, the data packet came in hex (string) format since I used VISA functions.

In CAN VI, I have specification of device. I know numeric representations of variables. But I guess I can not use VISA functions. So the hex packet will come in string or not??

Please just make a basic CAN example that is similar to the RS232 VI I attached. In this way, I will be able to imagine what happen.

Thanks

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(17,881 Views)

The can bus is not supported under visa.

Sorry so you need to check the driver for your can bus interface.

Which can bus interface do you have in your pc?

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(17,852 Views)

I download NI CAN Interface tool if you asked this.

Sir, Normally I use lots of products of NI, but right now we do not have CAN module and enough time. In this project, there are only third party device and CAN-USB converter. I have to monitor the CAN datas in LabVIEW.

Since I did not use CAN Bus in LabVIEW before this time, I have no idea what I will do. As I said, I have specification of CAN frames. I prepared required algorithms. But I do not know the communication part.

Can you send me a basic example to read CAN message from a standard CAN frame with Arb. ID, Data Length, Data etc.... ??

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(17,847 Views)

Hi