Hobbyist Toolkit

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Individual Timing of Two Valves?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! I'm new to LabVIEW and have gone through some tutorials and have used some examples to get started on making a VI for what I need. I am controlling two solenoid valves that both have their own open/closed times, which are user specified. I am using an Arduino and already have a circuit set up with a MOSFET that is capable of safely powering/controlling the valves. I wrote an Arduino sketch that does what I need, but the experimental setup requires control through LabVIEW.

Basically, I need to have each valve initially open for a set amount of time (ex: valve0 for 500 ms, valve1 for 700 ms), then immediately after the specified time each valve needs to start cycling at its own rate (ex: valve0 open for 150 ms then closed for 250 ms, valve1 with different timing).

So far, I've successfully been able to control a single valve in the way I want to using LINX (image attached). I can tell the valve to start open for a time, then begin cycling at my specified rate. My struggle now is figuring out how to properly extend this control to two outputs, ensuring that the uneven timing between valves doesn't mess things up.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,872 Views)

I would look into using a State Machine architecture and since you are a beginner I would look into the JKI State Machine.  This can be installed through VIPM.  There any many examples and training available on this type of architecture to get you started.