cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about ClassName_New.vi in GOOP4 Type C

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, 

I am new to GOOP toolkit, and I start to study this framework. 
Here, I have a several questions about "ClassName_New.vi" which is created auotmatically by the framework. 

The black diagram of this vi is: 

Diagram of ClassName_New.png

I lists my questions in the followings: 

This access scope of this vi is protected. It is further warpped into "ClassName_Create.vi" which is public, and   "ClassName_Create.vi" is a constructor to instantiate an object. 

There is an "Object name" input of "ClassName_New.vi", but I have no ideal about when I should wire "name of object" to this input and for what reason I should. 

Is this a way to get the reference of an object by name string in any place of a project? 

When the "Object name" input is not empty string, "ClassName_New.vi" will create or look up the existing object which has the same name. From the black diagram of "ClassName_New.vi", we know that there is a "Single Element Queue" (SEQ) accompanied with a "named object", and the reference number of this object is stored in this SEQ, not only in wire. 

But I find that there is no explicit code in "Destroy.vi" to close the reference of SEQ. Does the framework intend to close the reference by garbage collection? or Should I create an "object name" attribute for explicitly closing the reference in "Destroy.vi". 

Thanks for your kind help

Godel Sung

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,454 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author godel

Hi,
And welcome to the world of Objects :-).
BTW you can find the latest version from here: http://opengds.github.io/

So below you are looking at the Object By reference design (That means you're not copying the object if you split the wire).

The name of the object behaves as a Named Queue, but you need to create a Public method that's called e.g. GetObjectByName(<Name>).