From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Discovering and Imaging the Device

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible Corrupt Firmware

I am a coach from FRC team 5682

We have a roboRio that is not imaging using the RoboRio Imaging Tool

P/N 155213D-01L

S/N 0305EBA3

Imaging Tool - Version 20.0
From the Imaging Tool

Current IP 172.22.11.2

Current Image FRC_roboRio_2020_v10

firmware Version unknown

Attempting to Update with roboRIO_6.0.0.cgf

We get the Message "Unable to download firmware to target."

No firewalls, SUB connection, Run as Administrator

Possible Reasons from the error message:

NI System Configuration:  The name of the target or expert contains illegal characters or has an invalid format.  Eacn lable of the hostname must be between 1 and 63 hcaracters long, and the entire hostname, including delimiting dots, must be 255 characters or less.

When attempting to boot into safe mode, we get a consistent orange blinking light on the Status indicator

Other notes:  I can access the web interface with USB through the IP address 172.22.11.2.

I can ssh into it and look through the lvuser directory and see last years code as .jar files, as well as any new Java code I create and deploy through vsCode.

Driver station can connect to the roboRio with communications and Robot code showing green status lights in driver station.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,919 Views)

Hey Sawyer5682,

Sorry to hear we've been having some trouble with the firmware.

To me, since we can still connect to it (ssh, safe mode etc.) it seems that I would say we have an issue with the update process rather than an issue with the roboRIO itself.