cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sampling Frequency for Frequency Counter

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm using a NI9401 card on  cDAQ-9174 chasis, and I'm trying to use a frequency counter to measure an oscillating frequency (100Hz to 100kHz). My understanding is that when setting a frequency counter one should use the implicit timebase for the counter and let DAQ-mx decides on what timebase to use. But I have a couple of questions (it's my first time trying to use a counter):

1) Can I specify at what rate to sample the frequency counter? I want to read the counter at 10kHz, so I tried setting a timed loop and the fasted it can go is 1Hz. Is there a better way to do this? Maybe using a buffer and reading into the buffer at 10kHz? But how would I set up that second task?

2) Is it possible to know what timebase DAQ-mx is using for the frequency counter?

I'm attaching the task I created and VI for the timed loop. Thanks for the help.

Luis

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,419 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author lgga

Welcome to the wild, wonderful world of counters!  You'll be finding that they are a different sort of beast than the other DAQ subsystems (AI, AO, DI, DO) with special capabilities *and* challenges.

1. The best answer will come after rethinking and rephrasing the question.  There are many possible responses that are all arguably "right".  Sorry, this is one of the ways counters are *unique*.

Usually, discrete measurements of timing signals trade off measurement precision against measurement speed.  When you understand the tradeoff, you'll probably end up preferring a lower measurement speed that can yield a smaller quantity of better quality measurement data than what you'd get by requiring a 10 kHz sample rate.

I'll try to give more practical advice a little further along.