From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating triggers at specific encoder values

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I'm having a hard time trying to figure out a way to generate triggers at specific encoder values. Right now, I have an quadrature encoder setup that will increment/decrement a counter and I want to ideally pass an array of encoder values so that when the encoder reaches that value, it generates a trigger. I'm still new to all this, so if someone could point me to the right direction, I would be grateful.

By the way, I'm using the USB-6341 in C++.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,600 Views)

This is not a hardware-supported capability for the general case.  You haven't described enough details of your particular situation for me to figure out if there's a decent workaround or not.   Here are some questions that'll help:

- Is this linear or rotational motion?   

- Will it be uni-directional or bi-directional during the times of interest? 

- Are there discrete times of interest or is this meant to operate continuously and without gaps? 

- What's the trigger signal for?   

- How much lag time can you accept between crossing a target position and generating the trigger signal?

-Kevin P

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,574 Views)

Hi Kevin, thanks for your answer!

- Is this linear or rotational motion?

Linear motion