BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long did it take you to get to the point where you were confident in your Labview/programming ability?

I feel like every time I touch this system, I'm starting over again Bill-Murray-In-Groundhog-Day style.  Every time I think I'm starting to get a good grasp of something, I'll do a search for a solution and find an example that references so many alien concepts that it looks like greek to me!

How long did it take you to get to the point where you felt like you knew enough to get by?  Or to offer advice to others?  Being self taught and on a deadline is stressing me to no end.  Smiley Sad
(8,614 Views)
It took me at least 4 years to be as comfortable as I am now 7 years from the start.

I now have a set of principles that I can apply to almost any project that comes along.

Using:

State-machine
Event structure for GUI
Event structure for inter-process communication
Queues
Occurences
VI templates
VI Server
LV project interface
External libraries

Regards,

André

Message Edited by andre.buurman@carya on 08-31-2007 10:02 AM

Regards,
André (CLA, CLED)
Message 2 of 38
(8,598 Views)
I've been using LV for 7 years and I still feel I have a lot to learn.  I guess I started to feel confident after 3 to 4 years.  I moved from sequence structures to data flow in a year or two, then I learned state machines about the 3rd year.  I learned events when they first came out.  But there is always something new coming out, User events, timed loops, project window, shared variables.  Expertise becomes obsolete very fast in this world.
- tbob

Inventor of the WORM Global
Message 3 of 38
(8,582 Views)

I've discovered Labview this year at school were we learned a very little. Just enough to get started.

I applied for a training period at SOMFY were I was asked to develop a Labview application.