Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Same Abstract Message for Caller from Two Different Nested Actors

Solved!
Go to solution

Forgive me is this is a silly question, I'm rather new to using the Actor Framework.

I have a calling actor that launches two different nested actors. These two actors are similar, but their behavior is extremely different. I want these actors to both send a message back to the caller with some data letting the actor know that their task completed, any issues that occurred, etc. and I have the messages formatted such that both actors send the same message cluster back to the calling actor. I thought I would be able to setup one abstract message to caller in each nested actor, and one child of abstract message in the calling actor.

So that's what I did. I created an abstract message for nested actor 1 and nested actor 2, then created a child of the abstract message for nested actor 1. Unfortunately, I'm having trouble with the Write VI created by the abstract message scripting for the abstract message in nested actor 2. I get the following message when trying to connect the message class for the parent to the Write VI of the nested actor I did NOT use to create the parent message (I hope that makes sense): "You have connected a refnum of one type to a refnum of another type and both types are members of some class hierarchy, but there is neither a simple up cast nor type cast between the two classes".

Do I have to make another VI that's a child of the abstract message generated for nested actor 2? Or is there a way I can coerce the message object generated for the calling actor to work for both nested actors Write VIs?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,016 Views)