Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Picking Correct Method for Multiyear Application Development

Hello All,

I may be frequently active on the forum starting soon. Im totally new to labview and AF other than Core 1&2 (core 3 and OOD scheduled). At this time, Id just like to have a very high level discussion to ensure that AF is the correct architecture for our use. And yes, Im very aware that Im upjumping myself into a category that is beyond my training. oh well... there is a need 😕

The High Level: Im historically a Test Engineer working in reactor and other nuclear/electromagnetics fields. The group Im currently in has been supported by a single senior engineer developing labview software for the past 25 years. However, we are unfortunately loosing him later this year to retirement. Myself and one other engineer are attempting to bring ourselves up to speed to develop a whole new suite for the group over the next few years. I believe AF is probably the right choice of Architecture, but it is certainly not what the previous application was built on as that was being developed as far back as the late 90's.

The day to day need: I need to have 5 or 6 exe's (we believe splitting into separate exe's is a best method to prevent a similar situation with the existing code that it has become a behemoth and has problems with updates to one app/UI system affecting other app/UI systems) that perform different tasks with different UI's. The application UI's need to be simple but relay significant data to the users: my coworkers. The UI's also need to be succinct in that if they want to perform a specific measurement, it doesnt require them to open 4 windows. Just one. This unfortunately creates a fairly big top level UI code