Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nested Actors taking time to stop

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to Actor Framework and trying to convert an existing project to Actor Framework. In this project I need to launch about 15000 nested actors. Currently I am  checking with launching about 7000 actors. I am able to launch these nested actors but when I stop the Top Actor it takes several minutes for the program to stop. I am assuming that the stop core running so many times is causing the delay but am not sure. I don't want it to take so much time to stop. Is there any suggestion to reduce this time. Also is launching so many actors a bad idea? Any insight on this is welcome. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,119 Views)

I can't imagine any process (outside of database/web servers/file servers/etc) that needs 15,000 individual asynchronous processes. No wonder it takes so long!

What are you doing with these actors? I would bet there's a way to do it with just a single actor.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,057 Views)

I'm afraid LabVIEW isn't designed for that high number of async-called processes.  Tens and hundreds is the number more normally reached.   Here is a past discussion, for interest: https://forums.ni.com/t5/Actor-Framework-Discussions/Actor-Framework-Inheritance-and-Execution-Syste....  

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,051 Views)