Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Localizing for multiple languages in AF?

Solved!
Go to solution

What have others done in the AF to extend the localization for multiple languages?  The base localize lookup fields are fine for one language but ultimately, the config should load in a language, then the AF localization VIs be used to lookup the appropriate language for translation.  I think a simple table of data to index appropriate language would be suitable, if each entry lookup gets indexed, that can then be indexed with the appropriate language column.  Anyone done this with AF or have other suggestions?  We usually do localization from a messaging framework with DVRs to allow the localization process to make the lookup and change for the language properties. Haven't thought much on that yet with the AF, as I'm just learning it, but am curious what has been done in multi-language with it.

Thanks,

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,106 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Mike_King

The AF sample project was set up for localization at the installer level, rather than on-the-fly localization (similar to how LV itself is localized). But if you're going to do on-the-fly, I'd likely do something like:

• have the localization dictionary in a file
  • have each Localization.vi read the dictionary entries relevant to itself.