Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can those queue references as stored in a caller be 'dynamic'

Hi all,

I am just a beginner with AF, but have not yet found an answer for my problem. Have read a number of documents from here and the LV help and elsewhere, but no answer 😞   BTW, I am working with LV since v3.0, so I'm not feeling like a LabVIEW beginner 😉

I am designing a communication service that needs to connect to an unknown number (<~10)  of external devices, using sockets, RS232, USB, whatever. The connection is initiated by an operator or a kind of script.

I want to abstract the connection with a nested actor, being called by request to the main (caller) actor.

If I see what I get when creating a new AF-project in LV2013 v13.0.1.f2 (32 bit) is a 'class consisting of (amoung others) a 'DNL_Alpha Queue' and a 'DNL_Beta Queue'. These are queues that have been designed and created at devellopment time and are static AFAIK.

I would like to change this and replace the 'collection' of DNL-queues by an array of those queues, Think of an array of cluster of (Name as string, Queue-Ref as queue). That way I assume I could add a new queue for every nested actor that is loaded at runtiime. And I could address those queues by iterating the aray, searching for the correct name and retrieving the queue ref when found.

I am aware of the risks of non-unique queue names etc., but I believe this could be solved by a proper naming algorithm. An timing is not an issue here - the system shall run for long periods, has no requested throughput or reaction times.

Can this be done? And are there more problems I am not yet seing here?

Any help and comment is appreciated!

TIA

--

Uwe

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(9,268 Views)

Uwe,