LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why is rs232 visa write timing out

Hi,
I am new to using RS232 to communicate with instruments, and I am having some problems with talking to the instrument.  I am using Labview 2009, Win7x64, NIVISA 4.6 to try to talk to an old Oxford Instruments PS120-10 superconducting magnet power supply.  The problem I am having is that the VISA write command times out when I try to talk to the instrument.  I don't really understand what is causing the timeout because a timeout error would imply that the computer is expecting an answer from the instrument, and as far as I can tell a write command doesn't need a response; I am under the impression that there is no handshaking required with RS232 - in other words I am just sending the instrument a start bit, 8 data bits, and 2 stop bits.  Can someone enlighten me on what I should expect from RS232 communications?  I've tried using a simple VI as well as MAX with the same result.  I have verified the communication protocol in MAX and the Visa Configure Serial Port VI match what the instrument manual specifies (9600 baud, 1 start bit, 2 stop bits, no parity, commands end with carriage return).  The instrument never goes into its remote mode (the command I am trying to send it tells it to go into remote mode).  If I send the same command over GPIB to a newer version of this same power supply the instrument goes into remote mode.  The instrument manual says the instrument is configured as a DCE, the computer should be configured as a DTE.  The pin-outs should be 2: TxD, 3: RxD, 4: RTS, 5: CTS, 6: DSR, 7: GND, 8: DCD.  The cable I am using has a DB9 connector for the computer end and a DB25 for the instrument with the folloiwng DB9-DB25 mapping: 1-8, 2-3, 3-2, 4-20, 5-7, 6-6, 7-4, 8-5, 9-22. 

Does anyone have any ideas for what I may be doing wrong?  I'm running out of ideas...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,441 Views)