LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

read relay switching time with scope tds1002

Hello everyone,

I need to measure relay's switching time (time from normally open to close position) and I don't know how to do this using TDS1002.  This is my first time writing a labview program (LV 7.1) using an oscilloscope.

The question is how do a measure and compare this data so as to make sure that this time is within the specs:  less than 200ms.

Basically the hardware circuit (detector) provides a low to high level (0 to 5V) when relay change state: open to close position.

I am planning to use the external trigger to start adquisition and channel 1 to monitor this level change.  The relay will bounce for about 10mS. 

Could it be possible to have a sample code that relates to this request or get some pointers as to how to perform this task in labview?

Thanks very much,

Frank

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(3,067 Views)

Hi Everyone,

Could someone point me to a link, app notes or sample code (labview) to be able to perform above request?  Thanks very much,

Frank

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(3,043 Views)
Are you interested in knowing the exact switch time or just that it occurs before 200msec? If it's just that if happens before the spec, then you can place a pull-up on one side of the relay, gnd the other side, and use the Mask & Limit Testing Express VI or the lower level Limit Testing functions. Another way would be to get a subset of the waveform from the 200msec point to the end and look at the max value in the waveform array. If it's right around gnd (use the In range and Coerce function), you know that the relay is closed and has stopped bouncing.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(3,035 Views)

Thanks Dennis,