From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

parallel processing

Solved!
Go to solution

I use LView 8.6.1 and I'm very new to LabView.  I have two completely aysnchronous functions in a physical machine.  The first function looks at temperatures from a couple of thermistors and runs a PID controller to maintain a setpoint.  The second function runs a stepper motor to perform a mixing function that has nothing whatsoever to do with the temperature function. Both functions require calls to a 3rd-party set of vi's, and these vi's are embedded into two parallel loops within a external while loop, shown attached (generic version due to problems with confidentiality). .

Where the same VI's are used in both loops, I've made them re-entrant.  I've added wait states of at least 100 mS to each loop shown to allow CPU switching.  I have 2 cores and the machine reports 5% max CPU utilization.  I have wired device configuration and error handling in parallel between the two loops to avoid unintentional serial dataflow.