LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange data between main VI and SubVI's

Solved!
Go to solution

This is my first attempt at building a large program, and hope you can help me.

The idea is to load a data set and perform several operations and calculations on them, ending up in building a report file.

What i'm trying to accomplish is build a main VI that has the data, and several sub-vi's to do the calculation, dinamically loaded into a sub-panel (to keep the UI simple). I thought of this architecture because I'm pretty sure I'll have to evolve the calculation VI's, and I don't know how many I'll need, so I can just add another calc VI to the plugin dir and load it. The thing is, I have to keep moving data back and forth from the main VI to the sub-VI's, and maybe even between sub-vi's. Is there an easy (or not that hard) way to do it? I thought of queues, but sometimes data has to be sent to more than one sub-vi, and I can't have one queue for each. The idea I get is like a CAN network producer-consumer mode: the main VI produce some data and all the ones interested in that data consumes it. Then they send the results back (as a "producer") and all interested in the response consumes it.

Attached is a "skeleton" of what I intend to do.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,301 Views)

Hi Thiago,

You're along the right lines with the VI you have written, I found when first developing using subpanels that the NI example (which I have attached) provided the answers to some of the more challenging aspects of using subpanels. I am currently developing an application using subpanels for a customer which uses a state machine event structure combination which loads all the VI's using in the application into memory and just loads and unloads the UI into the subpanel. Have a look at the example attached and if your interested in seeing the other model I talked about let me know.

Regards

Andy