LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deprecation of Internet ToolKit .... so no more Telnet support

Hi All

I know I am very late with this question but I have been extremely busy working at a new start up company this last year and working in LabVIEW 2011.

Yesterday while looking at LabVIEW 2012 I noticed this announcement from NI Internet Toolkit Depriciated with more than a little shock :mansurprised:

In particular the fact that there is no recommended replacement for Telnet. I spend a large amount of my LabVIEW life using Telnet in production test environment and thought I have been hoping for a few years that the toolkit package would be re-written and some of the bugs in it be fixed, I was not expecting this.

I understand going forward I could take the existing toolkit and just save it into new version or I could change to using Putty calls from the system exec, but I would really like to know from somebody at NI why they have abandon support for Telnet as LabVIEW moves forward.

A very unhappy and disgruntled Robot Frustrated

Danny

Danny Thomson AshVire Ltd
Message 1 of 14
(11,761 Views)

Should still be available. See here. But NI recommends not to use them anymore. Strange since there's no replacement for many functions...

Message 2 of 14
(11,752 Views)

Yes I accept that the toolkit still exists for LabVIEW 2012, but I expect sometime this year we will get 2013 then 2014 etc;  but to me at any rate the Deprecation notice implies that NI have no intention of a telnet substitue or replacement.

I may be wrong and would be happy if NI correct me on that matter.

Danny

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(11,732 Views)

I hope that they are working on something like this.

http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW-Idea-Exchange/Native-SSH-and-SFTP-Support/idi-p/1141529

Now is the right time to use %^<%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S%3uZ>T
If you don't hate time zones, you're not a real programmer.

"You are what you don't automate"