LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3D spiral curve

hi all,

i'm quite new to LV so i'm here asking for help.

does anyone know how to create a 3D spiral curve over time thru LV 2009?

and how can i restore the data (that is, the coordinate points)?

thx a million.

p.s. i want to create a picture kind of like this one  http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=43609

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,222 Views)

Have a look in the examples. There are several showing how to use 3D graphs.

All you reallly need is a 3D graph and the simple generation of the spiral. Attached is a poorly put together starting point...

Ian

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,203 Views)

to Ian,

i appreciate for your reply.

but how can i have a spiral "over time"?

what came up to my mind is to use "insert into array" to deal wth it

but then, problems will occur during data restorage. that is, i'll get data of the size of power of 2.

please help if you can, thx again! 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,170 Views)

Hi jhr,

I'm not quite sure what you mean by restorage or data of the size power of 2 - it depends how you handle the arrays.

To generate the spiral over time you can plot the graph 'inside' the loop, rather than after the loop has gathered all of the data. In other words you can add a data point to the graph after it is calculated, then calculate the next, plot, calculate, plot etc..

Ian

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(4,158 Views)

@_Ian_ wrote:

Have a look in the examples. There are several showing how to use 3D graphs.

All you reallly need is a 3D graph and the simple generation of the spiral. Attached is a poorly put together starting point...

Ian

This goes a little further.  Make your data arrays first, send it into a loop, use the loop index to increase the length of the arrays with Array Subset.

21497iF885D35257DEC06B

Although I really should have put the Build Array OUTSIDE the loop.  (I'm not takint time to make another JPEG Smiley Tongue